“Ms. H****, I want… to love you!”

Today was the first day back to work after 5 days off. And it wasn’t great. Actually, I went to the bathroom, sat down on my “thinking throne”, and thought long and hard why I do what I do. You see, I’m really trying to find happiness in every situation that I’m in… looking for the positives and rejecting the negatives. And I do it on the toilet often.

Don’t hate.

And then it hit me. Like a wonderful, amazing ton of bricks. And I couldn’t stop smiling!!! It’s beautiful…

The very first student I ever supported (at a public school) was a beautiful boy who happened to have CP, who recently migrated to Burnaby from Russia. Yes, Russia! LOVE the accent. I’m seriously thinking of renewing my goal to ‘master’ the English-Russian accent. Anyways, during my 3 weeks at this school, I got super super sick. And he was sooo sweet! In his Russian accent, he kept repeating to me, “You wheelchair! You wheelchair!” to me… you see, he spent most of his days in his wheelchair (could barely walk) and so, since I was sick, to him it made sense for me to use his wheelchair instead. Awww….

And the best part of that precious 3 weeks of that learning what it is to do what I do now… well… when it was time for me to leave, he proudly gives me a “I’ll miss you” card, and says exactly this…..  *ahem*… (*Russian accent inserted here*)

“MS. H****…. I WANT…. TO LOVE YOU!”

And yes, I’m going back to work tomorrow, thankyou very much.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

